IAF No 17 Squadron: The Golden Arrows of Rafale’s

Golden IAF
Golden IAF

As the Indian Air Force and the country are officially going to induct the french origin Rafale fighter jets on October 8, 2019, the IAF has officially resurrected the No 17 Squadron also known as the Golden Arrows on 10th September 2019 as the new home to the rafale jets.

On September 10, 2019 the Indian Air Force resurrected the No 17 Squadron also know as the Golden Squadron as the home base for the newly arriving Rafale fighter jets. It was done by Air Chief Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa at Harayana’s Ambala airbase.

The Squadron Insignia was handed over to the designated commanding officer Captain Harkirat Singh by the Air Chief Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa. Also the No 17 Squadron has been now put on Indian Air Force’s active squad of battle after the resurrection.

Handing over the Squadron Insignia

History of Golden Arrows:

The Golden Arrows Squadron was first raised on 1st October 1951 at Ambala in Harayana. It had several aircrafts such as the Hawker hunters and the MiG-21’s. It has also flown several times during the 1999 Kargil War. Eventually, the Golden Sparrows Squadron was decommissioned in the year 2006.

Now as the IAF is officialy inducting the Rafale Jets which is going to boost the IAF’s operational capabilities on October 8, 2019, in the presence of our Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, several other prepartions has also already begun.

IAF has already started trainning on  Rafale of a batch of 24 IAF pilots, and is getting them combact ready to use Rafale effectively. One squadron of Rafale will be based in Ambala, Harayana to tackle Pakistan and the other squadron will be at Hashimara, West Bengal to tackle China.

India and IAF is surealy ready to use the newly comming Rafake jets which is sure to boost IAF’s capablities in warfare. What’s your comment about this? Please free to comment down your thoughts. 

Jai Hind



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here